Skip to content

Dale Carnegie

November 29, 2012

So this post is very dear to my heart because it is my first author that I want to share with you all, Dale Carnegie. Dale Carnegie was born in 1888 and to me is one of the most influential writers in recent history. I know that is a big claim but when you look at what he wrote about and how it was and still is one of the most searched after topics you begin to realize the importance of this great man. Dale Carnegie wrote on subjects like public speaking, communicating effectively, and how to have people like and gravitate toward you. Dale Carnegie wrote simply about ideas that seem easy and truly work. Dale Carnegie himself admits to not having all the answers and in one quote even admits to stealing ideas from others.

“The ideas I stand for are not mine. I borrowed them from Socrates. I swiped them from Chesterfield. I stole them from Jesus. And I put them in a book. If you don’t like their rules whose would you use?”

One of the great things about Dale Carnegie is that he is honest with you in everything he did. He was an author but one of his biggest passions was public speaking. He loved going around telling others about his books and encouraging them with stories and often he would pick up more stories as he went around giving these conferences. Based on his books and conferences in 1912 Dale Carnegie Training courses came into existence and have thrived ever since having over 80 countries been involved and over 8 million people completing the courses. Personally I would love to just go to one even after many of his books, because of the fact that it would mean that I was apart of this great mans legacy and would be able to point to it even more than I can now.

Look Up: 1,2,3

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

